Excepter “Familiar”

As far as I can tell, this 2014 double album by these guys was their last. One of their members died of cancer shortly before this album was released, and I haven’t heard a peep from them since. My condolences to their friends and family. This was a truly remarkable band.

Apparently originally formed from whatever Harlem, NY scene spawned the formidable No Neck Blues Band, these guys made a ton of records from the early 2000s until this one. They have the meandering, cosmic quality of NNCK, but their tools are far more electronically based. They also have “songs,” of a sort, which NNCK could never be accused of. This is a pretty unique concept. It’s like progressive noise-pop or something. Maybe this is the folk music of the 22nd Century. For fans of Black Dice and Cerberus Shoal?

I feel like I’ve heard most of these guys’ albums even though this is somehow the only one I actually bought. Stand out track for me is their cover of Son House’s “Grinning in your Face.” I find myself interpreting their rendition of that tune a lot in the shower in the morning.

Leave a comment